DUI In North Dakota – Administrative Hearing

What To Know About The Administrative Hearing After A DUI

In North Dakota, when a person drives or is in physical control of a motor vehicle, the law deems that the person has “consented” to chemical testing to determine the presence of alcohol or controlled substances. Following an arrest for driving under the influence (DUI), it is likely that you will be asked to submit to a chemical test, usually a breath test. If your test results exceed .08, or if you refused chemical testing, you will likely receive a report and notice form.

You have only 10 days after the report and notice form is issued to request an administrative hearing. This hearing, also called a department of transportation hearing or driver’s license proceeding, is held after a DUI arrest so that you can contest the suspension or revocation of your driving privileges. If you do not request a hearing within 10 days, you will have waived your right to a hearing to challenge the suspension or revocation of your driving privileges. If an administrative hearing is timely requested, a hearing must be held within 30 days.

The Defense You Need When Facing The Suspension Of Your License

Driving privileges in North Dakota may be suspended based on the results of a chemical test, or they may be revoked for refusing testing. A North Dakota suspension or revocation would likely be reported to your licensing state if you are not a North Dakota licensed driver. At Vogel Law Firm, we are here to help you through all aspects of your DUI case, including the administrative hearing and the criminal aspects of the case. We work to defend you from the suspension or revocation consequences you may be facing.

If you submitted to chemical testing and your test results were at least .08 but less than .18, you face the following suspensions:

  • First offense within seven years: 91 days
  • Second offense within seven years: 365 days
  • Third or more offense within seven years: two years

If you submitted to chemical testing and your test results were at least .18, you face the following suspensions:

  • First offense within seven years: 180 days
  • Second offense within seven years: two years
  • Third or more offense within seven years: three years

If you refused to submit to chemical testing or preliminary breath testing, you face the following revocations:

  • First offense within seven years: 180 days
  • Second offense within seven years: two years
  • Third or more offense within seven years: three years

Temporary Restricted Licenses

For a first offense DUI, a North Dakota licensee is eligible for a temporary restricted license after 30 days. A temporary restricted license “work permit” is, generally, not available where driving privileges have been revoked for refusal to submit to testing or if you have prior offenses. For any offense, if you are a North Dakota licensee and qualify to participate in the 24/7 sobriety program, a temporary restricted license may be issued after 15 days of suspension or revocation.

If your license is suspended or revoked after the administrative hearing, you have the opportunity to appeal that decision to the district court within seven days of the hearing officer’s decision. An appeal of the administrative decision precludes a driver from obtaining a work permit until the appeal is concluded.

Having Your Driving Privileges Reinstated

Reinstatement of driving privileges is not automatic. To reinstate, a driver must submit a number of documents. For drivers licensed in a state other than North Dakota, adverse license consequences will likely occur in North Dakota and the licensing state. You need to contact the Department of Transportation (DOT) after your suspension is complete to determine what steps need to be taken to restore your driving privileges.

Contact Us Now To Discuss Your Options

Schedule a consultation today and learn more about how we handle DUI and other criminal matters. Call our office at 866-771-9930 or contact us online.